Browse booksBy TitleBy AuthorBy CategoryBy Most RecentComplete Catalogue in PDF formatHow to order booksBooksellers NoticeRecommended reading for beginnersICB Bargain Bundles ICB SamplerJung at Heart NewsletterPublisher ProfilesThe Story behind ICBContact UsDownload Free BooksICB Blog


Twitter
Speaking of Jung: INTERVIEWS WITH JUNGIAN ANALYSTS The Analytic ExperienceThe Self-Regulation of the PsycheThe Brillig TrilogyEward F. EdingerAnalyst Training in CanadaRelated SitesIN MEMORIAM: Marie-Louise von Franz, 1915-1998Manuscript Submisssion GuidelinesHome

New and Recent Books


ISBN 9781894574457. Index. 128 pp. 2016. $25.00

 

In this book I revert to my earlier love of explicating Jung’s essays, interweaving Logos and my own whimsical Eros commentaries. Some passages may be familiar to readers, like a loved painting with a few added brush-strokes here and there. 

Pocket Jung is written for the general reader who may not be acquainted with Jung’s own writings, many of which, intended for the specialist, are not easily understood by those who lack the technical knowledge that would enable them to appreciate the value and significance of Jung’s researches. Such knowledge is particularly necessary for an understanding of the alchemical research that occupied so much of his time and energy during the last twenty years of his life. 

I have not attempted to make an exhaustive resume of Jung’s approach to psychic reality. Rather I have tried to set forth here some of the basic ideas on which his school of psychology rests. 

The material of these chapters was originally presented over the years to an intelligent group of men and women in Columbus, Indianapolis, San Francisco, Vancouver, Winnipeg and Toronto, who were not very familiar with Jung. I hope that this relatively simple presentation may also meet the needs of a wider public. My intention has been to capture the richness of Jung’s thoughts and stimulate the reader to know more about Jung’s work and school of depth psychology. Jung’s primary aim was to raise the individual’s level of consciousness, so that she or he not be prey to unknown psychic forces, and that is my aim too. Now read on and savor some of the best of C. G. Jung. 

The cover of this book is deliberately bland, so you can carry it around without anyone knowing you are discovering yourself.

Daryl Sharp, Dipl. Analytic Psych. (Zurich), M.A., B.Sc., B.J., is a graduate of the C. G. Jung Institute in Zurich and the author of many other books in the series Studies in Jungian Psychology by Jungian analysts. He is the publisher of Inner City Books in Toronto, Canada, where he has an analytic practice.

[MORE]>>>


ISBN 9781894574440. Index. 128 pp. 2015. $25.00

 

In this final volume of his Badger Trilogy,  Sharp pushes the boundaries of “subjective non-fiction” about as far as they can go. Still, true to his other books in the “Jungian romance” genre (which he created), he continues to explore the psychological aspects of relationship.

Eros: Melodies of Love is informative, often playful or romantic, and always fun to read. Through his alter-egos Daemon or Badger McGee, Sharp deftly interweaves a colorful quilt of Logos and Eros, full of compassion, good humor and Jungian wisdom. Not for nothing has he been called the Harold Pinter and Samuel Beckett of the Jungian literary community, and this latest volume underlines it. Open it anywhere and be engrossed.

This is a warm and thoughtful book with big ideas. Readers familiar with Sharp’s other writings will be delighted anew. Those who chance on this book will be moved to read his other works, which all highlight the task of living intentionally, psychologically conscious.

“Lyrical and down-to-earth; a chorus of love as it manifests in life and relationships.”—A.C. Review of Books, Toronto.

“An eye-opening read for anyone interested in self-understanding. It verges on the magical in bridging the collective gap between thinking and feeling.”—J. N. Hassam, Puffin Post, Edmonton, Alberta.

“Master of rebirth in the second half of life, Sharp is living proof that Jungians do it better and longer.”—J. Sparkles Gareth, Hoosier Book Journal, Indianapolis.

Daryl Sharp, Dipl. Analytic Psych. (Zurich), M.A., B.Sc., B.J., is a graduate of the C. G. Jung Institute in Zurich and the author of many other books in the series Studies in Jungian Psychology by Jungian analysts. He is the publisher of Inner City Books in Toronto, Canada, where he has an analytic practice.

[MORE]>>>


Clinical Chaos141. Another Piece of My Heart: with Badger MGee, Sett in His Eros Ways.

Daryl Sharp

ISBN 9781894575433. Sewn. Index. 112 pp. 2014. $25.00

This second volume in the Badger Trilogy features more Jungian notes from underground, with Badger expounding on the contrasexual archetypes and Daemon musing on the personal influence of Jung’s essay, “The Undiscovered Self.” 

Another Piece of My Heart is playful and thought-provoking, as befits the author’s style in integrating Logos and Eros while differentiating between the two. Sometimes bawdy and whimsical, often laugh-out-loud absurd, and always mercurial—it is deceptively easy reading, a page-turner bound to keep one up into the wee hours. All in all, it will stir the heart and mind of cognoscenti and new readers alike. 

Sharp’s prose is wry, sardonic, candid and resonates on many levels. With Badger McGee and Bo Peep in his basement and El Jay in his bed, this book by Daryl Sharp—still the Harold Pinter and Samuel Beckett of the Jungian literary community—will amuse and edify those who thought Jungian psychology was only for intellectuals and the elite. 

“An endearing diarist in the tradition of Stephen Leacock and Samuel Pepys.”—John Robert Colombo, author and anthologist, Toronto. 

Daryl Sharp, M.A., B.Sc., B.J., is a graduate of the C. G. Jung Institute in Zurich and the author of many other books in the series Studies in Jungian psychology by Jungian analysts. He is the publisher of Inner City Books in Toronto, Canada, where he has an analytic practice.

[MORE]>>>