Browse booksBy TitleBy AuthorBy CategoryBy Most RecentComplete Catalogue in PDF formatHow to order booksBooksellers NoticeRecommended reading for beginnersICB Bargain Bundles ICB SamplerJung at Heart NewsletterPublisher ProfilesThe Story behind ICBContact UsDownload Free BooksICB Blog
Twitter The Analytic ExperienceThe Self-Regulation of the PsycheThe Brillig TrilogyEward F. EdingerAnalyst Training in CanadaRelated SitesIN MEMORIAM: Marie-Louise von Franz, 1915-1998Manuscript Submisssion GuidelinesHome

Title 139.

Eros Naturally: Jungian Notes from Underground with Sett In My Ways: A Badger’s Tail
Daryl Sharp (Toronto)

ISBN 9781894574419. Sewn. Index. 112 pp. 2013. $25.00

Eros, Naturally is a romp with gravitas. It is another “Jungian romance” by the author who created the genre, starting with Chicken Little: The Inside Story (1993) and continuing through over a dozen more tomes. No other writer has so adroitly interwoven Logos and Eros, thinking and feeling. In this new book, Sharp’s wit and analytic knowledge are counterpointed by Badger, an alter-ego who lives in the basement.

Sharp has learned well from his mentors—Jung, Marie-Louise von Franz, Edward F. Edinger, and the bevy of writers he calls collectively “the modern European Mind.” As the Harold Pinter and Samuel Beckett of the Jungian literary community, his prose is wry, succinct and resonates on many levels. Eros, Naturally is no exception—serious fun, whimsical- and informative, a real page-turner.

Eros, Naturally amuses its readers with its wit and surprises its readers with its candor and amazes with its insights into the human predicament. It introduces us to Badger, who leaves his basement sett to take us on frolics in time and place—Toronto in the 1950s, Paris and London in the 60s, then Zurich, San Francisco, Jamaica,, etc. Back in Toronto in the 2010s, he discovers that “every badger has an inner badgerette.” Not every reader will agree with the author’s enthusiasms in music and films, but all will enjoy the play of wit and revel in the wit at play, especially the self-selected epitaph, “He was kind and generous; he loved women “ An endearing diarist in the tradition of Stephen Leacock and Samuel Pepys.
—John Robert Colombo, author and anthologist, Toronto.

Eros, Naturally is Sharp’s latest entertaining admixture of mind-science and subject-driven fiction. His approach to psychic well-being, his “Jungian romances,” will interest more people in self-discovery than any of the many academic tomes on the subject.
—R. J., San Francisco Times.


See also titles 103, 132, 141, 142. See all books by Daryl Sharp.